You are here

UMD Three-Minute Thesis Competition

The 3MT competition challenges students to communicate the significance of their research projects to a non-specialist audience in just THREE MINUTES! The University of Maryland Graduate School invites graduate students from all disciplines to compete in the annual Three-Minute Thesis Competition (3MT).  

The 2020 3MT competition at UMD:  Colleges and Schools will hold the first-round college-level 3MT competitions during the first 2 weeks of March 2020. Winners of the college-level 3MT competition advance to the final-round campus-level 3MT competition held in April.  

2020 3MT Award Winners Announced!  (See below)

Eligibility Information: Eligible students are doctoral students and master’s students who are doing a research dissertation or thesis

History and Overview of the 3MT Competition
3MT 2019 Workshop Slides

3MT Guidelines               

3MT Registration Form  - 2020 registration now closed

College-Level 3MT Contacts

CMNS: Charles Delwiche   (
ENGR: Nick Slaughter / Min Wu ( /
ARHU: Ralph Bauer / Betsy Yuen ( /
BSOS:  Wayne McIntosh / Jessica Rae Deitzer ( /
ARCH  Madlen Simon  (
EDUC: Kerry Ann O'Meara/Lindsey Templeton (
INFO: Katie Shilton / Emily Dacquisto  ( /
JOUR: Ron Yaros / Serap Rada   (
AGNR: Maile Neel   (
BMGT: Justina Blanco  (
PLCY: Taryn Faulkner (
SPHL: Stephen Roth  (

Campus-Level 3MT Contact

Robyn Kotzker (

2020 3MT Award Winners Announced!

2020 3MT Award Winners 

Sarah BenishAtmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
Ashley Chapin, Bioengineering
Lauren Jonas, Marine Estuarine Environmental Science
Byeol (Star) KimMechanical Engineering
Izetta Autumn Mobley, American Studies
Varun SuryanComputer Science
Xin TianElectrical and Computer Engineering

2020 3MT Finalists

Xuanying ChenCriminology and Criminal Justice
Daniel EscobarAerospace Engineering 
Yi Feng, Human Development and Quantitative Methodology
Jaehoon Jeong, Decisions, Operations, and Information Technology
Austin LewisReliability Engineering
Amy MorinAerospace Engineering
Binbin PengUrban and Regional Planning and Design
Lovepreet Singh, Plant Science and Landscape Architecture
Bryce SlingerSchool of Public Policy
Nancy VeraComparative Literature
Xu HanSchool of Public Policy 


Past 3MT Award Recipients 


Amanda Burkholder, Human Development and Qualitative Methodology

Kyla Cools, Anthropology

Fiona Jardine, Information Studies

Liang Liang, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Suzanne Marselis, Geographical Sciences

Stephanie Yee, Counseling Psychology

Yuhan (Douglas) Rao, Geographical Sciences

Kelsey Gray, Bioengineering

Pravrutha RamanBiological Sciences

Samuel Ramsey, Entomology

Min-A Cho, Physics

Sarah Hirsh, Environmental Science and Technology

Gabriele Betancourt-Martinez, Astronomy

Theresa Smith Chirles, Kinesiology

Pan He, Geographical Sciences

Carly Muletz Wolz, Biological Sciences

Thomas E. Winkler, Bioengineering

Sowmya Subramanian, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Amy Marquardt, Materials Science and Engineering

Zubin Adrianvala, Urban and Regional Planning

Pui Yu Ling, Geographical Sciences

Jason Sinclair, Animal and Avian Sciences