You are here

UMD Three-Minute Thesis Competition

The 3MT competition challenges students to communicate the significance of their research projects to a non-specialist audience in just THREE MINUTES! The University of Maryland Graduate School invites graduate students from all disciplines to compete in the annual Three-Minute Thesis Competition (3MT).  The competition takes place in the Spring. 

Colleges and Schools will hold the first-round college-level 3MT competitions during the first 2 weeks of March 2020. The Graduate School will hold the Final-Round Campus-Level 3MT Competition during Graduate Research Appreciation Day (GRAD) on April 1, 2020, at 10:00 am and 11:00 am, in Charles Carroll Room in the Stamp Student Union.

Eligibility Information:  Eligible students are doctoral students and master’s students who are doing a research dissertation or thesis.

Resources
History and Overview of the 3MT Competition
3MT Information Slides
Sign up for a 3MT Workshop!  (Dates to be determined)

Register to compete in the 3MT Competition by February 21, 2020

3MT Guidelines 

Register to Compete Here! 

 

College/School Contact Information: 
ARHU: Ralph Bauer  (bauerr@umd.edu)
ARCH: Madlen Simon  (mgsimon@umd.edu)
AGNR: Maile Neel   (mneel@umd.edu)
BMGT: Justina Blanco  (jblanco4@umd.edu)
BSOS:  Wayne McIntosh   (wvmci@umd.edu)
CMNS: Charles Delwiche   (delwiche@umd.edu)
EDUC: Kerry Ann O'Meara/Lindsey Templeton (komeara@umd.edultemplet@umd.edu)
ENGR: Nick Slaughter   (nslaugh1@umd.edu)
INFO: Mary Anne Kendig   (mkendig@umd.edu)
JOUR: Ron Yaros / Serap Rada   (sdrada@umd.edu)
PLCY: Taryn Faulkner (faulkner@umd.edu)
SPHL: Stephen Roth  (sroth1@umd.edu)

 

Past 3MT Award Recipients 

 

Amanda Burkholder, Human Development and Qualitative Methodology

Kyla Cools, Anthropology

Fiona Jardine, Information Studies

Liang Liang, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Suzanne Marselis, Geographical Sciences

Stephanie Yee, Counseling Psychology

Yuhan (Douglas) Rao, Geographical Sciences

Kelsey Gray, Bioengineering

Pravrutha RamanBiological Sciences

Samuel Ramsey, Entomology

Min-A Cho, Physics

Sarah Hirsh, Environmental Science and Technology

Gabriele Betancourt-Martinez, Astronomy

Theresa Smith Chirles, Kinesiology

Pan He, Geographical Sciences

Carly Muletz Wolz, Biological Sciences

Thomas E. Winkler, Bioengineering

Sowmya Subramanian, Bioengineering

Amy Marquardt, Materials Science and Engineering

Zubin Adrianvala, Urban and Regional Planning

Pui Yu Ling, Geographical Sciences

Jason Sinclair, Animal and Avian Sciences